New Zealand Music Commission


The NZ Music Commission is an organisation with a national reach that is funded primarily through Vote: Arts, Culture and Heritage. It is an independent charitable trust registered under the Charitable Trust Act 1957 and based in Auckland. Its full name is the New Zealand Music Industry Commission Te Reo Reka o Aotearoa.

The Vision of the Commission is a successful music industry in New Zealand.

The Mission of the Commission is to grow the music industry in New Zealand, both culturally and economically, at home and abroad.

The organisation has a small staff - five full-time and three part time employees - and is governed by a Board of Trustees. The Board members have been appointed specifically for their knowledge and skills across all facets of the NZ music business and they meet eleven times a year.

We firmly believe that:

- Music has value
- Music is an essential part of our national identity
- Successes achieved both at home and abroad impel increased cultural pride and increase New Zealander's sense of place in the world.

The Commission reports to the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage via the Ministry for Culture and Heritage.

7 Great North Road

Auckland Postal Address:
PO Box 68-524
Auckland 1145

Phone: + 64 9 3760115
Fax: + 64 9 3760116

Please Note: The NZ Music Commission can only provide service to residents of New Zealand.

For general information about the NZ Music Commission or any of our projects, contact: Catherine Walker - Office Manager: